HCCH Receives Quality Improvement Gold Award


Harrison County Community Hospital was one of 51 hospitals in Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas that won a 2018 TMF Hospital Quality Improvement Gold Award by achieving gains in key clinical areas designated as national health care priorities. HCCH was one of only seven hospitals in Missouri, and the only one in northwest Missouri, to receive the Gold Award.

The award, based on achievements in 2016 and 2017, honors hospitals that are performing quality initiatives aimed at improving outcomes in patient care by recognizing those hospitals that have improved their performance on specific national quality measures.

“Every department and every employee at HCCH is involved in initiatives to ensure continuous quality improvement,” said Tina Gillespie, the hospital’s chief executive officer. “It is immensely gratifying for us to see our work recognized through quality awards, but our patients are the true beneficiaries of quality improvement efforts.”

“TMF is proud to recognize these hospitals for accelerating change and measurably improving systems of care,” said Tom Manley, CEO of TMF Health Quality Institute. “Quality improvement is a complex and demanding process, and we thank these hospitals for their exemplary outcomes.”

The award program recognizes three tiers of winners for their performance: Gold, Silver and Bronze. The criteria include quality data reporting measures as well as readmissions measures.

All Inpatient Prospective Payment System (IPPS or Acute Care) Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) in Arkansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas were automatically included as participants in the non-competitive program.

Out of all 557 IPPS or Acute Care Hospitals and 188 CAHs, 51 earned the Hospital Quality Improvement Gold Award. The Silver Award went to 50 hospitals, and 51 hospitals earned the Bronze Award.

During the program year, hospitals focused on making improvements in clinical areas that have been designated a priority for U.S. health care by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and The Joint Commission, an independent, non-profit, standards-setting and accrediting body in health care.

These measures use data associated with providers’ ability to deliver high-quality care or relate to long-term goals for quality health care.

Pictured: Amy Pickren, Director of Inpatient Services and Quality; Tina Gillespie, Chief Executive Officer; and Robin Davidson, Chief Nursing Officer; display Harrison County Community Hospital's TMF Hospital Quality Improvement Gold Award.

Back to News Listing